Awkward silences

Ever been talking to someone, might even be a very close friend, and all of a sudden there’s a pause in the conversation and it’s awkward?  There’s this long uncomfortable silence and you are dying to fill it.  You just have to say something but after a certain point anything you say will sound strained so you don’t say anything at all.  You just wait for some external sound or event to break the spell before you die.  Ever have that happen?  I have and it always makes me feel socially inadequate.

This to me is why blogs are such a great invention.  When you create a new one, there’s that empty “About” page and no posts.  It’s a big uncomfortable silence that you can do anything with and long to fill, but after staring at it for a bit you realize anything you write will sound strained.  You just wait for some reader to come along and post a comment to break the spell before you die.  Except there’s nothing to comment on.  Yes, thanks to blogs, you can now feel socially inadequate even when you are alone.

There, now I’ve filled the awkward silence.  Does this post sound strained?

About T.Rob

Computer security nerd. WebSphere MQ expert. Autist. Advocate. Author. Humanist. Text-based life form. Find me on Facebook, Twitter, G+, or LinkedIn.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Awkward silences

  1. T.Rob says:

    Thanks for the kind words! I love presenting at the conferences just to get to meet with people and find out how they use MQ. I like to believe I’m making the world a little safer with the security sessions, but in truth I think I learn more from the attendees than they do from me. I’ll be at IMPACT again this year so I hope to get to see you or any of your students who are able to attend. Oh, and thanks for filling the awkward silence. 🙂

  2. thayshan says:

    Hi Rob..
    Just wanted to say that I’ve attended one of your presenations on MQ Security at IMPACT I think. You were amazing, and I really gained alot from your presenatation. I’m an MQ instructor, so you can only imagine how valuable it is.

    In any case, I always point my students to your blog when I teach the security lecture, so you probably get some traffic from me and my students, but they probably just read all the great material you have and forget to thank you.

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

