Tricks ferrets play

My friend Bruce writes “the problem with holiday shopping is that it screws up ad engines and the things they offer you.”

71jwdpwf8cl-_sl1500_Tell me about it. My daughter Megan has a ferret and the ferret has a big cage. Inside the big cage are a variety of places for the ferret to sleep, including a couple of hammocks. One of these – the one that looks like a giant fuzzy banana – recently had to be replaced because of all the holes she’d chewed into it. (“She” in this case being the ferret not the daughter.) Since I have Amazon Prime, I was conscripted into placing the order. So far, so good, right?

No! No, it’s not! NEVER, EVER buy your ferret a “banana hammock” online. I can’t describe in polite company the kind of ads I’m getting now other than to say they are traumatic. Go to the pet store to buy your banana hammock in person. Pay cash. Don’t use your loyalty card. In fact, use a fake name. Trust me on this.

About T.Rob

Computer security nerd. WebSphere MQ expert. Autist. Advocate. Author. Humanist. Text-based life form. Find me on Facebook, Twitter, G+, or LinkedIn.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tricks ferrets play

  1. “the problem with holiday shopping is that it screws up ad engines and the things they offer you.”
    – so much true

  2. YouDaMan! says:

    wait … you’re still keeping ‘polite company’? you woulda thunk!

    • T.Rob says:

      Yes, actually. I volunteer on the PTO of a local elementary school and try shelter the parents and teachers from the worst of the adult content. That means keeping the public blog PG-rated and keeping the kids away from the PTO. Those kids swear like sailors.

  3. D says:

    it might suit you though, in the privacy of your own home.

    • T.Rob says:

      If it did suit me in the privacy of my home, I’m secure enough in my self-image that I wouldn’t portray myself as the opposite of that. I’m sure it suits a lot of people in the privacy of their home and elsewhere, or there would not be a market for these things. I’m actually quite happy for those people because I figure they must be really fortunate to have what is surely a niche desire, and then discover they can buy products for it. I’m just not one of them.

      Meanwhile, I have the opposite problem – my desire is for Internet of Things “smart” devices that are both secure and functional. That’s hardly a niche and yet there are almost no products to meet that need. There are however about 10 places in a 15-mile radius from me where I can purchase a banana hammock at retail. That includes both Pet stores and Adam and Eve stores so the banana hammock nich is completely covered whereas the secure, functional IoT niche is wide open. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

